top of page
Search
  • mollyharrismade

DIY FLOATING SHELVES



This tutorial is for wall to wall shelves, so they do not have sides (don't need them)! Just a top, bottom and front. If this is the kind of shelf you are looking for, please continue reading!


Guys, making your own shelves is SO easy. I was tempted to just pay more and order floating shelves, but you have to trust me! They were the easiest part of my fireplace renovation.



And here’s a before photo to show you what I was working with (gasp).




This was also my first time using a kreg jig and I have to admit I was very intimidated. I wish I hadn't been! Pocket holes seemed like such a confusing concept to me, until I did it myself. They are SO easy and honestly kind of fun! I want to use pocket holes for everything now! Ha ha.


I especially loved this project, because I didn't have to use my table saw. I used my miter saw which I ALWAYS prefer doing over the table saw. I just feel safer using it and my cuts are always better with the miter saw. Please follow all safety precautions necessary while making your cuts.


This tutorial is for FOUR 4' floating shelves that are 12'' deep. There is a short video at the end for a visual of all the steps.


What you'll need:

(4) 1''x12''x8' Square Unfinished Pine Board (top+bottom of shelves)

(2) 1''x4''x8' pine board (front face of shelves)

(3) 1''x2''x8' pine board (wall frame)

(a few scrap pieces of wood, see step #6)


Stain:

- Minwax Wood Finish Semi-Transparent Color Stain in Tinsmith Gray

- Minwax Wood Finish Penetrating Stain in Special Walnut


Tools you'll need:

Miter Saw

Kreg Jig

Drill

1 box of Pocket Hole #8 x 1'' Round Washer Interior Pocket Hole Screws

1 box of 1 3/4'' (or bigger) screws to attach frame to wall

1 box of 3'' trim head screws





STEP ONE: Cut the top and bottom of your shelves (1x12'') to length. For me this was easy, I just cut all four boards right down the middle. I ended up with four 4' boards.


STEP TWO: Cut your face boards (1x4'' boards) to length. Again, for me this was easy since I cut them right down the middle. This created 4 face boards.


STEP THREE: Cut your wall frame (1x2'' boards) to length. I cut two boards right down the middle to create my 4' back frames. Then I cut EIGHT 10'' pieces for the sides frames.


STEP FOUR: Now that all your wood is cut, it's time to create your pocket holes on your top board. I created 6 holes on each top board. Once the holes are drilled, attach the top board to your face frame using the 1'' pocket screws. We will come back to the bottom piece in a bit.


STEP FIVE: Attach your framing to the wall using the 1 3/4'' screws and a level. You will want the 10'' pieces on the sides of the wall and the longer piece along the back of the wall. Your shelf will slide and rest on this support frame.


STEP SIX: I needed extra support for my bottom shelf since these shelves didn't have side pieces to secure it to. I wasnt able to get my drill inside the shelf to secure the bottom to the front with pocket screws, so I had to get creative. I attached the bottom board to my shelf by using some scrap wood I had lying around. I built up the scraps to the exact height I needed to make my bottom board sit flush with the face board and then I drilled the scrap wood into the middle underside of the top board (this will be inside the shelf, you will not see it.) Be careful not to let the screw go through the top of your shelf. After the scraps are secured to the top shelf, screw the bottom board into the scraps. You will screw right through the bottom of the bottom board, but you will not be able to see it with the trim screws. This method worked great and found it a lot easier than adding the sides that I didn't actually even need.




STEP SEVEN: Sand your shelves. You don't have to sand if you are going for rustic, but I wanted a smooth finish so I sanded quickly by hand with 80 grit and then 220 grit. Wipe clean with a cheese cloth or rag.


STEP EIGHT: Stain your shelves. I spent an entire day trying to find the perfect color combination for my shelves, but let me tell you that it was WORTH IT. I am obsessed with the color I created. First, I generously applied the Minwax Tinsmith Gray. I let it set for 1-2 minutes and then wiped it off entirely. Let it dry for 15 minutes and then generously apply the Minwax Special Walnut stain. Let this set for 15-25 minutes and then wipe clean. Reapply the special walnut stain for a second time, if you are finding you are wanting to go a little darker.




STEP NINE: Hang your shelves! Slide them onto the wall frame and there you have it! Beautiful, custom, solid wood shelves to last a lifetime.




If you recreate these shelves, tag me on Instagram so I can see! I hope you found this tutorial helpful!




61 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page